OK so I fibbed!!!  But hope it got your attention!!

Actually my daily blog is going weekly, the reason? SUMMER IS HERE!!!!

Let me first explain, we don’t get Spring in this part of Spain, we go from yucky days to hot in an instant.  I started my blog in March when we were still getting showers and a few cold days, blogging every day – not a problem. Then last week we woke to SUMMER and I am now outdoors for as much time as possible.

I hope you still follow me even though I’m going weekly.

The temperature here is around 28º but by July it will hit high 30’s and by August we’ll be getting 42º, so now is the time to repot the plants on the terraces, touch up any outdoor paint, swim and canoe on the lake and chill in the shade reading a good book.

I often wonder how, when I worked full-time, I got everything done in a day, but now I don’t know how I fit in everything I do now!!  Spanish class, yoga class, sewing class (with a Spanish neighbour called Paca who teaches us the most amazing traditional Spanish methods).

I’ve been in the Art studio over the past few weeks and am off to the local Rastro (Art and Antique fayre) on Sunday to set up a stall as I’m running out of wall space to put all my artwork up.

Yesterday was our 6 weekly visit to the hairdressers.  When we moved here 7 years ago our mummy wanted an English hairdresser so we found one, Cutting Edge in Albox (an hours drive away). We have been going ever since and Jo, Terry and the team treat us like old friends.  We make a day of it and shop in the English supermarket, eat English food in the Munchbox (run by Sarah and Martin) and try to support Gilly in Puppy Rescue, the charity shop by taking bedding for the dogs or items she can sell.  It’s our 6 weekly English Fix.

For those of you who would like any info on the great shops etc. in Albox here they are:

see you next week

CUTTING EDGE HAIR AND BEAUTY SALON

This is not just a hairdressers, this is an experience!  The salon is beautiful, the service amazing and there is also a beauty salon for all your non hairdressing bits!

These are award-winning Toni and Guy stylists, Jo and Terry have been doing our hair for almost 7 years and even though we have to travel an hour we wouldn’t go anywhere else.

Calle Malaga Albox

950 633 086

THE MUNCHBOX run by Sarah and Martin

Calle Malaga, Albox

689421321 or 650797948

Take out or eat in – breakfasts, sandwiches, salads all made fresh daily

My recommendation – Cheese, ham and onion Melty and buy some coleslaw to take home – it’s to die for!!

PUPPY RESCUE

Gilly and her team do amazing work to rescue, care for and re-home dogs in Spain.

The charity shop raises money but you can also sponsor a dog through their website

www.puppyrescueinspain.org

or call them on 667623254

About Living in rural Spain

I live in Andalucía in the beautiful southern part of Spain. It is the largest of the 17 regions of Spain and Andalucía is broken down into 8 provinces and I live in the province of Granada. I have lived in rural Andalucia for almost 13 years. I am originally from England. I find the scenery here in Spain stunning. There are amazing sunsets and the colours of wild flowers, almond blossom and poppy fields in the Spring and trees in the area are an inspiration.

What do you think of this post?

