Life is good!  I’ve been busy in the Art studio, busy laying tiles on the terrace, busy watching the diamond jubilee celebrations on UK TV, busy enjoying the glorious sunshine and busy observing life here in Spain!!

The car park in our nearest town is manned (actually womanned) and after parking you give your registration number (matricula) to the lady on the gate who writes down the time you entered (and calculates the cost accordingly when you leave).  I never bother with my matricula, I shout ‘Hola’ and she writes ‘Jacaleen’ (The Spanish equivalent of my name).  Well we do stop and chat to her grandmother when she is there so I guess they know us now!!

More disconcerting was that this morning I was ordering cafe con leche in a local bar and another customer recognised me and stopped to chat, why disconcerting you may ask?  Because he owns a shoe shop in town and knew who I was……..  told you I have a shoe obsession!

While sat drinking my coffee and taking in the sunshine, it occurred to me that some of the Spanish language is easily translated.  A van parked nearby had ‘mensajeria paqueteria’ written on the side. (Basically parcel delivery).  The shop opposite sells ‘electrodomésticos’ (yeh electrical items).  But I had trouble when another van turned up and on the side was written their website address,

www.acerosinoxidablesmateos.com (you figure it out and why sooooo long!!)

I also went for a routine eye test this morning and learned an expensive lesson.  Here in Spain, if you wear glasses to drive, you have to have a spare pair in the car with you.  My spare pair were bought 18 months ago and I have never worn them, but like a good law abiding citizen, I keep them in a case in the glove box.  I tried them on this morning and not only had they ‘wilted’ and were higher on one eye than the other, I couldn’t see a thing in front of me.  Concerned that my eyes had drastically changed I told the optician, who said,”do you keep them in the car?”

The expensive lesson is that leaving glasses (or spare contact lenses) in the car over a hot summer DISTORTS THE LENSES!!! And so a new pair are on order!

Off to Lorca tomorrowfor a ‘girlie shop’……  do I need more shoes?

Then onto the apartment on the coast.

See you in a week, have a good one.

About Living in rural Spain

I live in Andalucía in the beautiful southern part of Spain. It is the largest of the 17 regions of Spain and Andalucía is broken down into 8 provinces and I live in the province of Granada. Having lived here for more than a decade I call Spain my home. I am originally from England. I find the scenery here in Spain stunning. There are amazing sunsets and the colours of wild flowers, almond blossom and poppy fields in the Spring and trees in the area are an inspiration.

What do you think of this post?

