My photo challenge to take a photo a day for 365 days has been foiled early in its attempt.  Unable to get on line for the past few days, not due to a technological defect, but due to a visual defect, inability to focus and dizziness caused by an ear infection, I was unable to post my photo of the day.

Whilst very determined and refusing to be defeated by these problems I managed to take a photo each day.  Like most photographers, I was pertinacious and single-minded in the pursuit of my goal.  However, when it was pointed out to me that the real challenge was not only to take the photo every day but to post it on my blog I decided my photo challenge had been thwarted by the vertiginous attack.

feb day 8 (day 39)

Rather than focus on the pain and dizziness I got to thinking about how much we rely on technology and how far it has come in my own lifetime.

It was the late sixties before my father owned a car, a second hand Austin A40 devon which the family proceeded to hand paint bright blue.  His offers to ‘drop’ me at the youth club were usually refused unless he promised to drop me out of sight around the corner.  Actually, I’d love the car nowadays, it’s a beauty.

 

We didn’t have a telephone in the home until the early seventies, it was the latest inovation called a trimphone. (see information below)  Prior to the trimphone we would use the local telephone boxes situated on most street corners.

Red_telephone_box,

 

In fact I was still using telephone boxes until the mid 80’s when working away from home during the week I would queue in all weathers to phone home.  My first mobile phone was the size of a house brick and I didn’t get it until the late 90’s.

 

feb day 7 (day 38)

I’m still a bit behind the times and tend to use my mobile for text messages and to speak to people!!

So, a rethink on my photo challenge is in order, any suggestions would be welcome.

 

The Trimphone was an entirely new and lightweight design, which among its novel features incorporated the receiver and microphone in the earpiece as a composite unit. The user spoke into the handset in the normal manner, but the sound was carried up inside the handset to the microphone. Because the handset was hollow, as opposed to the solid mouldings of earlier phones, this was the first telephone with the feature of which most modern phone users are now wary. If the user attempted to place a hand over the microphone in order to make a confidential aside, the sound was still transmitted inside the handset with embarrassing results.

Another feature was a tone call device in place of the conventional bell, which had a volume control to suit the preference of the subscriber. A transistorised oscillator connected to a miniature loudspeaker produced the warbling tone.
However, possibly the most striking out of many new features was the luminescent dial, which glowed green in the dark. This effect came from a small glass tube of tritium gas, which gave off beta radiation and made the dial fluoresce. Although the radioactivity was equivalent only to that given off by a wristwatch, with people less likely to have as close or continuous contact as a timepiece, it was later felt wise to withdraw this facility as public concern over radioactivity grew. By 1981, towards the end of the general availability of the Trimphone, a keypad version was marketed. BT later invested in a widely publicised initiative to safely recover and dispose of Trimphones from customers’ premises.

Courtesy of

http://www.britishtelephones.com/histuk.htm

What do you think of this post?

