At the age of 58 I can still party with the best of them, wandering home at 6 in the morning during fiestas is not unusual. I can, occasionally, drink half a bottle of wine and still be standing! The problem is, I can’t do both on the same night!!

The half bottle of wine means that I have to be in bed by 10 p.m. at the latest or I lose the next day to a mega hangover.

Staying up until 6 in the morning demands NO ALCOHOL intake and yet I am sure that my ability to stay up so late is only due to the copious amounts of zero coke I drink. This fizzy drink intake means I have to visit the loo every 40 minutes or so and, therefore, it is better to stay up and party the night away than suffer frequent disturbances throughout a night’s sleep!!

Aviary Photo_130491942826631849

In my mind I am still in my early thirties.

I don’t have a blue rinse perm, although I regularly have to have the old grey hairline touched up.

Aviary Photo_130286593416503514

I don’t wear twin sets or pearls, but stop short of wearing anything higher than the knee except at the beach or around the pool.

I have a wardrobe full of ridiculously high, totally unsuitable shoes which I often wear, but whilst I fight the urge to wear ‘sensible’ shoes give me the choice and my flip-flops will always come first.

birthday

When driving alone, my music is loud enough to cause vibrations in the vehicle in front. I turn the volume down in traffic. Out of courtesy to fellow road users? Nah!! I don’t want them to hear me singing along to the ‘sounds of the 70’s.

I endeavour to keep up to date with technology even having to explain what a blog is to a dear 63 year old friend. I use my smartphone, kindle, tablet, laptop, Xbox and WI fit without having to resort to the instructions or get a free ‘which guide’.

But I still feel it is bad manners to use my mobile in the company of others. I text and whatsapp, but do it using the complete, full language and can’t bring myself to use text speak. I have stopped using LOL as lots of love but still can’t figure out the underlying meaning of a smiley face or a wink!

I am the first in the queue at the fairground rides, love anything that goes fast, makes my head spin and causes me to laugh out loud yet I daren’t sneeze while I do this without crossing my legs!

Imagen 049

I have never worried about my age, indeed, when asked how old I am I often have to work it out using the current year and the year I was born. Ok that could be down to long term memory loss but I would rather believe it’s because I don’t consider my age as important.

My birthday is late December and, whilst I am only 58, a friend reminded me recently that I am 60 next year. (Thanks pal!) However, it got me thinking. How do I celebrate? Is it a landmark age? Is 60 the new 40? Do I give a damn?

What I do know is that I intend to stay healthy, keep fit, take my vitamins, spend quality time with my friends and family, use as many anti-aging creams as possible and have regular trips to the osteopath.

I also know that I will party till the sun comes up, laugh out loud at the most inappropriate moments, play my music at high volume, giggle at the silliest things, flirt, dance, sing bad karaoke, embarrass myself and sometimes others and if gaining years means growing old then I fully intend to grow old disgracefully.  Cheers!!

11292158164_fede7c28b4_c

 

About Living in rural Spain

I live in Andalucía in the beautiful southern part of Spain. It is the largest of the 17 regions of Spain and Andalucía is broken down into 8 provinces and I live in the province of Granada. Having lived here for more than a decade I call Spain my home. I am originally from England. I find the scenery here in Spain stunning. There are amazing sunsets and the colours of wild flowers, almond blossom and poppy fields in the Spring and trees in the area are an inspiration.

2 responses »

  1. pdimages says:

    Excellent post Jax xx

What do you think of this post?

