It could not be further from the truth! I have just returned from a week’s detox and anti-ageing retreat in the beautiful area of Calpe, Valencia (North of Alicante, Spain) with The Ultimate Retreat Company and it was amazing.

Shorter hiking trails are marked in green and white (Sendero Local) or ...

The retreat is set in a wonderful location, 10 minutes walk to the beach and in a quiet residential area just outside Calpe.

P1060185

On arrival I was shown to my luxury apartment and given a little time to settle in then off to lunch for a delicious goat’s cheese, walnut and avocado salad. All meals are included and are prepared by the top resident chef. They are organic, healthy, nutritionally balanced, varied and extremely filling. I have a very sweet tooth and used to snack on chocolate and sweets BUT this week I didn’t have one craving and was never hungry.

The welcome meeting introduces the team and the activities for the week. You can get involved in as many or as few as you like, nothing is compulsory, however, I would recommend you do as much as you can to take advantage of all that is on offer.

There are sessions of yoga, Pilates, core training, walks to the beach, coastal walks and, as this is also a spa, treatments on offer. I had a couple of massages, a facial and a pedicure. One of the massages was a Chuvutti massage which the therapist does with her feet! The most amazing, relaxing massage I have had anywhere in the world. You don’t just get a spa treatment, they advise and inform and share a variety of useful help and information.

Included in the timetable are various talks every evening such as talks by the Nutritionist, Naturopath, Life coach, Fitness Instructor and Make-up artist. You have the option of including 1:2:1’s with any of the team. I chose to have meetings with the Nutritionist, one of which was an intolerance test and I also had a meeting with the Make-up artist who helps to select the right products from your own make-up bag and the application giving you a modern approach to make-up.

My meetings with the Nutritionist were eye-opening. I have been a yo-yo dieter all my adult life and realise now why that is the case….. total lack of Nutrition!! I’ve lost weight before on various diets, but they were always weight loss diets (amazing how many chocolate bars you can eat every day on a 1200 calorie controlled diet) I have learned so much, how the hormonal system works, why the body behaves as it does, where to get the best nutrition and how to really ‘feed’ the body.

My meeting with the Make-up artist was a revelation, I thought Primer was the undercoat you put on a wall before painting it!!! I’ve been wearing the same colours and applying them in the same way for over 20 years but now all that has changed.

The team of professionals available are stupendous, qualified, experienced, supportive, encouraging and extremely friendly.

I am at a stage in my life where I needed a kick start to get me healthy and ready for the next chapter of my life. This retreat has done that…… and more.

I am energised, with improved skin, an abundance of knowledge, new friends and I lost 2.8 kilos (6.2llbs) in 6 days without even trying.

An amazing experience, an amazing retreat and an amazing bunch of people. Thanks to these guys my future is healthy.

For more information visit www.theultimateretreatcompany.com

I would recommend it.

About Living in rural Spain

I live in Andalucía in the beautiful southern part of Spain. It is the largest of the 17 regions of Spain and Andalucía is broken down into 8 provinces and I live in the province of Granada. Having lived here for more than a decade I call Spain my home. I am originally from England. I find the scenery here in Spain stunning. There are amazing sunsets and the colours of wild flowers, almond blossom and poppy fields in the Spring and trees in the area are an inspiration.

2 responses »

  1. Helen Dwyer says:

    Hi Jackie,
    Great review – I concur.

    Great to meet you lady – you’ve done great losing all that.

    I hope all goes well for you, and you never know, we may meet at Ultimate again.

    All the best
    Helen xx

    • Thanks for stopping by my blog Helen. It was great to meet you to and to use (steal) your vast array of knowledge on nutrition. I am going to keep going, managed to buy rice milk locally but still looking for chia seeds!! I’ll let you know how I get on. take care, Jacquie xx

What do you think of this post?

